Clauson sweeps final preliminary night at Chili Bowl

Bryan Clauson wins night four at the Bowl

Bryan Clauson wins night four at the Bowl

On the final preliminary night of the 30th Chili Bowl Bryan Clauson raced in 4 wins from his four starts.
First up Clauson took his heat then his qualifier and a flag to flag Feature win. With a second Golden Driller there for the taking Clauson improved his position even further when he won the Pizza Express Pole Shuffle when he disposed of Christopher Bell in the final match race to decide pole position for the Saturday night Championship Final.

Bryan Clauson's night

Bryan Clauson’s night

Clauson made the most from his pole spot and raced to an early lead over McCreadie with Kahne, Pittman and Golobic chasing hard to limit Clauson’s early advantage.
McCreadie picked the high side in an effort to close down Clauson.Kahne and Pittman continued to argue over the final transfer position.
Traffic and cautions offered little assistance to McCreadie .With 5 laps to race and traffic ahead Clauson continued to slide his way around the back markers and head to finishing line a comfortable winner over McCreadie .Kasey Kahne managed to hold his third position from Pittman to book his ticket for the Saturday night 55 lap final .
Taking a little gloss over the nights racing was the  disqualification of Shane Cockrum from the 2016 Chili Bowl Nationals when it was established that Cockbrum had driven in place of Alex Shanks .At this stage no explanation from Cocbrum his team or Alex Shanks.The Benton Fire Chief has some explaining to do .
A-Feature: Top 3 advance to Saturday’s A-Feature.
A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 63-Bryan Clauson[1]; 2. 47X-Tim McCreadie[5]; 3. 67Z-Kasey Kahne[3]; 4. 21-Daryn Pittman[2]; 5. 17G-Shane Golobic[7]; 6. 71G-Damion Gardner[13]; 7. 67-Tanner Thorson[10]; 8. 15X-Chad Boat[11]; 9. 73X-Jac Haudenschild[8]; 10. 05H-Hunter Schuerenberg[4]; 11. 21K-Cory Kruseman[9]; 12. 68-Ronnie Gardner[19]; 13. 14-Trevor Kobylarz[16]; 14. 11AG-Dave Darland[23]; 15. 27T-Tucker Klaasmeyer[18]; 16. 35S-Danny Faria Jr[17]; 17. 51W-Danny Sheridan[21]; 18. 15-Tim Siner[12]; 19. 9K-Kyle Schuett[22]; 20. 31B-David Budres[24]; 21. 80-Josh Hawkins[14]; 22. 98D-Clinton Boyles[20]; 23. (DNF) 88ND.J. Netto[15]; DQ 20A-Alex Shanks (aka. Shane Cockrum)…The 20a was found out to be Shane Cockrum, not Alex Shanks. Because of this, Shane has been DQ’d from the 2016 Chili Bowl Nationals.
Lap Leader: Bryan Clauson 1-25
Hard Charger: Dave Darland +9
Pizza Express Pole Shuffle (2 Laps, winner faces next lowest seed)
Zach Daum def. Shane Cottle
Zach Daum def. Thomas Meseraull
Zach Daum def. Kasey Kahne
Zach Daum def. Tyler Thomas
Joey Saldana def. Zach Daum
Jerry Coons, Jr. def. Joe Saldana
Tim McCreadie def. Jerry Coons, Jr.
Rico Abreu def. Tim McCreadie
Alex Bright def. Rico Abreu
Christopher Bell def. Alex Bright
Bryan Clauson def. Christopher Bell
The Championship Feature field will be a classic race and with Kyle Larson ,Tanner Thorson having to charge through their B2 Feature and Pittman and Hines having to do the same in the B1 Feature some interesting and thrilling racing awaits race fans

Who will hold the 2016 Golden Driller ?.

Social Share Counters

Leave a Reply